released October 2002

1. Independent Rock
2. Too Much Music
3. The Song With No Words
4. Touche-Moi-Rien
5. Things Have Changed Little Girl
6. L'exhumation D'yves Montand
7. Diary Entries Over A Major 7
8. Hey There Little Lightbulb
9. Cool Fire
10. Procrastination
11. (I Was A) Lord Of Darkness
12. Independent Rock (Reprise)

E(a)rnest is the first album in Kim Salmon's 14 year, 9 album 'solo' career to feature only the vocal, instrumental and songwriting talents of Kim Salmon. E(a)rnest is about the singer and the songs. Others may impress you with their noise through the smoke and lights of the party but E(a)rnest is for taking home. E(a)rnest is for lounging about with on a crisp spring day or enjoying in the intimacy of your fireside couch. A final word about E(a)rnest: Even if you're expecting the unexpected, it won't be what you expect. Contains a new reading of Cool Fire which was previously performed by the Beasts Of Bourbon. This is Kim's first release since 1999's Record (hac86) which was a full band release by Kim Salmon & The Business on Half A Cow.

Ya Gotta Let Me Do My Thing

released January 1997

1. I Won't Tell
2. The Zipper
3. You're Such A Freak
4. Undone
5. The Connoisseur
6. Insurance Man
7. Ya Gotta Let Me Do My Thing
8. You've Got Layers
9. Alcohol
10. The Lot
11. Horizontal Zipper
12. I Am A Voyeur
13. Guilt Free
14. Space 1999
15. Medium
16. Put Your Trust In Me
17. Caught In The Zipper

Kim Salmon & the Surrealist

Contains the single You're Such A Freak (hac68).

From the original bio:

One time leader of the much revered swamped-out noise merchants The Scientists and former axegrinder/songwriter for the most brutal (and sometimes beautiful) Beasts Of Bourbon, Kim Salmon has also been doing his own thing since about 1985 with help from his mighty Surrealists. Having released a bunch of classic albums such as Hit Me With The Surreal Feel, Sin Factory, Just Because You Can't See It Doesn't Mean It Isn't There on the very cool Red Eye label, Kim Salmon & The Surrealists jumped aboard the 'Cow in 1997 to release what many consider to be their best album to date in Ya Gotta Let Me Do My Thing.

Oozing back porch charm and Vegas smarm, Ya Gotta Let Me Do My Thing features 60+ minutes of music was recorded in Kim's kitchen and then mixed by the great Jim Dickinson (Alex Chilton, Big Star, Ry Cooder) in Memphis.

You're Such A Freak

released January 1997

1. You're Such A Freak
2. I'm Evil
3. Hey Momma, Hey Little Sister
4. Radiation
5. A Good Parasite Won't Kill It's Host

Track 1 from Ya Gotta Let Me Do My Thing (hac63). All other tracks previously unreleased.

Hit Me With The Surreal Feel

ITR 033
released January 1987

1. The Surreal Feel
2. Bad Birth
3. Feel
4. Bellyful Of Slugs
5. The Surreel Feel
6. Black Velvet
7. Intense
8. Blue Velvet
9. The Surreel Feal
10. Torture
11. Devil In Disguise
12. The Surreal Feal

buy the cd

US import of the first Surrealists album featuring the classic original lineup of Kim Salmon, Tony Pola and Brian Hooper.

Half A Cow
Half A Cow Records
PO Box 1100 STRAWBERRY HILLS NSW 2012 Australia
Email: haclabel(at)mpx.com.au
Phone: +61-2-8097 5857
ABN 93 300 971 980