by Love Positions

PRICE AU$ 15.00

(Half A Cow)

(originally released on vinyl 1990)

A Half A Cow "Classic Reissue"

The album Billiepeebup was the first full-lengther released by Half A Cow (the Light of Day single was the first seven inch released by the label too). There are ten extra tracks on the record, in fact everything that Nic and Rob recorded together between 1985-1989 is on the cd release of Billiepeebup. The bonus tracks include an electric version of Into Your Arms, covers of Prince's Kiss and Captain Sensible's Glad It's All Over.

"Now that the fevered indie-rock gold rush is over and things have settled back into boring old normalcy, it's still possible to be dazzled by small, shiny nuggets that were overlooked in all the madness. Billiepeebup is just such a sliver of solid gold. The Australian duo of Nic Dalton, who was between stints in the Plunderers and Godstar, and Robyn St. Clare, a member of the Hummingbirds, recorded a batch of gorgeous, witty, dreamy pop songs in the late 1980's. The LP, named after Joey Ramone's slurring of the words "Blitzkrieg Bop", was released on Dalton's Half A Cow label in 1990. Only a handful of mail-order/import rack devotees heard the album in these United States. Half A Cow has reissued the record, plus bonus tracks that boost the CD's total to 24 songs. Listening to Dalton's perfect pop hooks and St. Clare's little-girl-lost vocals is a welcome flashback to a time when bands like Small Factory roamed the land, playing clubs and making records just because it was fun and they loved it. Dalton went on to play bass in the Lemonheads, which had a hit with the St. Clare song Into Your Arms, here in two versions. Call me sentimental, call me a fool: I love this stuff." (Phil Sheridan, Magnet Magazine April/May 1999)

1. Mirror On The Train
2. Light Of Day
3. Rooftop Superman
4. Satellite Of Love
5. Into Your Arms
6. The Garden
7. When We Were Young
8. Shivers
9. Don't Slow Down
10. Eating June Beauty
11. Keep You With Mine
12. With Dirt Alone
13. Throwaway
14. Lounge Around
bonus songs:
15. Kiss
16. Don't Count On Me
17. Something Strange
18. Welcome To Our Town
19. Twenty-Five More
20. Trusted
21. Medicine
22. Whereabouts
23. Into Your Arms (electric)
24. Glad It's All Over


Listen to the album

Half A Cow
Half A Cow Records
PO Box 1100 STRAWBERRY HILLS NSW 2012 Australia
Phone: +61-2-9716 6926
ABN 93 300 971 980